The course itself

The course itself

Different and yet not

Each association does it differently and puts its emphasis on a different topic with a different philosophy but in the end they are all the same.

In general, the course must be divided into 3 rough units.

Theory

In the theoretic part of the course you learn the basics of diving: equipment, diving physics, medicine and environment.

Often you will receive a small booklet before the lesson. Meanwhile, with some associations this theoretic part can also be done online.

Afterwards you should be able to pass a short test of your knowledge. These tests usually consist of 30 multipe-choice-questions.

Pool, limited open water:

Whether your course takes place at a lake or in a pool is up to the diving school. It is important that you are safe at all times. In a pool, a maximum of 4 students should work with one instructor. In a lake, a 2:1 ratio is reasonable.

The exercises cover practice-oriented situations that could actually occur while diving. Good diving instructors will explain in advance what to do if, for example, the mask gets lost. They prefer to explain several skills and repeat them several times so that their students can understand and use them correctly.

These exercises are more than just compulsory.

If you are stressed out by the exercises – take the time you need to get a good feeling again. Don’t let anybody rush you. By now you will know if your instructor has enough patience and supports you confidently. Breathe calmly and think about how the exercise should proceed. The more time you take, the slower you perform the skill you are trying to acquire, the better it will work.

There is absolutely nothing hectic about diving. On the contrary, the more hectic it gets, the more dangerous it becomes. And an exercise doesn’t work out the first time, you are certainly not the only one struggling with it, it will be repeated until you feel safe.

Open Water:

Last but not least you should complete 2 days with a total of 4 – 5 dive sessions.

The instructor is out and about with a maximum of 2 students.

Again, take the time you need. You decide the pace of your course, not the instructor. The instructor will also make sure that you do not give too much space to your doubts or worries that something could not work. Good instructors can do that. They will motivate and confirm you at the right times.

The individual exercises and skills are specified by the diving associations and are laid down in their standard rules or on the so-called Training Record Card, which you sign at the end of the course.

Finally, you will be issued the so-called Brevet.

Tip:

If it is important to you to have a picture of yourself with blow-dry hair on your brevet, then you should take the photo beforehand. Because for the brevet, we need a photo of you and mostly the photo is taken after the course.

Der Kurs an sich

Der Kurs an sich

Anders und doch nicht

Jeder Verband macht es anders und legt seine Schwerpunkte auf ein anderes Thema mit einer anderen Philosophy am Ende sind sie aber alle gleich.

Allgemein muss der Kurs in 3 grobe Einheiten auf geteilt sein.

Theorie

In der Theorie lernen Sie die Grundlagen des Tauchens. Ausrüstung, Tauchphysik, Medizin und Umwelt sind die Themen.

Oft bekommen Sie ein kleines Heft mit nach hause das sie vor dem Theorieunterricht durcharbeiten.  Bei manchen Verbänden ist dies mittlerweile auch online möglich.

Danach sollten Sie in der Lage sein einen kleinen Wissenstest zum Tauchen, der meist aus 30 Multipe-Choice- Fragen besteht, zu beantworten.

Pool, begrenztes Freiwasser:

Ob Ihr Kurs am See oder in einem Pool stattfindet bleibt der Tauchschule überlassen. Wichtig ist, daß Sie jederzeit abgesichert sind. Maximal 4 Schüler sollten mit einem Instruktor im Pool arbeiten. Im See würde ist ein 2:1 Verhältnis vernünftig.

 

Bei den Übungen geht es um praxisorientierte Situationen, die auch wirklich vorkommen können. Gute Tauchlehrer erklären Ihnen vorab was sie tun müssen, wenn z.B. die Maske verloren geht. Sie erklären lieber mehrere Skills und wiederholen sie mehrmals, damit ihre Schüler sie richtig verstehen und anwenden können.

 

 

Diese Übungen sind mehr als nur Pflichtprogramm.

Sollten Sie von den Übungen gestresst sein – nehmen Sie sich die Zeit die Sie brauchen um wieder ein gutes Gefühl zu bekommen. Lassen Sie sich nicht hetzen. Spätestens jetzt wissen Sie, ob Ihr Tauchlehrer genügend Geduld hat und Sie vertrauensvoll unterstützt. Atmen sie in Ruhe und überlegen Sie, wie der Übung ablaufen sollte. Je mehr Zeit sie sich lassen, je langsamer sie den Skill durchführen, um so besser wird er funktionieren.

 

 

Beim Tauchen geht absolut nichts mit Hektik, ganz im Gegenteil, je hektischer es wird um so gefährlicher wird es. Und wenn es beim ersten Mal nicht hinhaut sind Sie sicher nicht alleine, es wird wiederholt, bis sie sich mit der Übung sicher fühlen.

See/Freiwasser:

Zu guter Letzt sollten Sie 2 Tage mit insgesamt 4 – 5 Tauchgängen absolvieren.

Dabei ist der Tauchlehrer mit maximal 2 Schülern unterwegs.

Auch hier gilt, lassen Sie sich die Zeit die Sie brauchen. Sie geben das Tempo vor nicht der Tauchlehrer. Dabei wird der Tauchlehrer auch darauf achten, daß Sie ihren Gedanken nicht zuviel Raum geben das irgendetwas nicht hinhauen könnte. Gute Tauchlehrer können das und kennen die Grenze dazwischen. Sie werden Sie an den richtigen Stellen motivieren und bestätigen.

 

Die einzelnen Übungen und Skills werden von den Verbänden vorgegeben und stehen in deren Standards oder auf der sogenannten Training Record Card, die Sie am Schluss unterschreiben.

Zum Abschluss des Kurses wird das sogenannte Brevet für Sie ausgestellt.

Tipp:

Wenn es Ihnen wichtig ist, sich mit geföhnten Haaren auf Ihrem Brevet zu sehen, dann sollten Sie das Foto vorher machen, denn für das Brevet brauchen wir ein Foto von Ihnen.